DIY

DIY: Fruity-Tooty Ice Cubes

Hello Sweet People,

How are you?! I’ve been massively busy the past two weeks, my Mum travelled away for a business conference and I jumped in to keep the house running. So writing the blog got a little bit delayed!

However, when Mum (and our friends, who were down there with her) came home we threw a little “Welcome Home” party!

As per usual, I went searching through Pinterest for food ideas for everybody. I made a whole board in my account of ideas and then decided on a few little pieces.

We made:

  • Pineapple, Cucumber and Lime Salad
  • Roast Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Ginger Salad
  • Grilled Pineapple
  • Corn on the Cob
  • Kebabs and Sausages

and the scrummiest Lemon Meringue Pie, I have ever had! It was a Thermomix recipe, but I definitely added extra lemon juice.

 

LemonMeringue
I grabbed this picture of the inside of the Pie after the first slice. So proud of the fact that the filled HELD and didn’t slide out.

 

My favourite part though, was that everyone got to make their own drinks!

The night before everyone arrived I pulled out some of our frozen raspberries, blueberries, mint leaves, lemon slices, rosemary sprigs and strawberry pieces. Popped them into some ice cube trays and added water and froze them!

IMG_8085

IMG_8086

They were so tasty with our fresh squeezed grapefruit and lemon juice!

Everyone got to choose they own combination of flavours and we all thought it was great fun!

IMG_8116

IMG_8125

The only problem I had with these cubes that I made – was the rosemary! Definitely not the best option; it added a slightly sour taste to the drink and the sprigs were very woody and kept getting stuck in my teeth, whoops.

This was the most exciting part of welcome home dinner, I think!

Let me know if you decide to make these, and post a picture on Instagram and tag me! I want to see all of your creations!

Sinead X

 

 

One thought on “DIY: Fruity-Tooty Ice Cubes

Leave a Reply

