Blogmas

Reflecting on the Year: Am I The Girl Who Peaked in High School?

blogmasdaytwentythree-copy

Hello!

Welcome to Blogmas Day 23! I cannot believe there is only two days until Christmas! It’s sad that Blogmas is almost over, but exciting because its almost the start of the new year and a fresh page!

I’m going to be honest, Blogmas hasn’t been as easy as I was expecting it to be, however, note to self – don’t commit to Blogmas if you are moving house! I had pre-written and planned a lot of the posts, however many of them had practical tasks attached to them (e.g. baking) that just couldn’t be done.

I also wanted to apologise for not writing a Blogmas yesterday, I had everything planned and then had a slight hitch come up and I didn’t get everything done in time, so instead of posting something that was not up to the standard I wanted just to get it up, I decided not to. Quality over Quantity.

I don’t know about you, but coming into the Christmas season, I have been thinking quite alot about how the year turned out, the things I want in my life next year and what the overall achievements were of 2016. Reflecting…alot!

There have been moments during my reflection that I have gotten so upset and angry about how 2016 has played out and disappointed in myself for not doing better, but also been really proud of how I handled many situations and achieved certain things.

For one, I managed to pay all my car bills this year, ad save up money for next years! I handled some pretty sticky conversations with people better than I normally do. All of these things are really great!

However, I have been having a swirling thought.

Am I the girl who peak in high school?

This year has been my first year out of high school and I don’t feel like I have really gotten very far. I had a really good (for the most part) high school experienc, I got good grades, I had a leadership position, I had a significant organisational role, but when I graduated none of that mattered anymore and it held very little significance in the world.

I got super upset, labelled myself as the girl who peaked in high school, had a massive cry and wallowed in a hole.

However, I’m not. Neither are you.

No girl is ‘the girl who peaked in high school’. We only become that girl if we don’t make decisions to better ourselves, to strengthen our character and to go after the things we want for our lives.

Something I have discovered this year is that high school is nothing like the real world, things like captaincy and a perfect report card doesn’t define which level job you get.

It’s your attitude, your determination, your will, your drive. Its YOU!

You define what job you get, you define what career you have, you define how well you do! It’s all YOU!

God tells us in James 1:22 “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves, but be doers of what it says.”

Then in verse 25 it reads “But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.”

When we fulfill what God’s word calls us to do, when we define our actions and decision for our lives by what God’s word asks out lives to look like, we will be blessed in what we do.

james_1-22_25_1024x1024

2016 has been filled with difficult decisions, strange situations, challenging opinions and wonderful changes to my heart and mindset; and I imagine some of your years have probably been the same.

We have to remember that we decide whether we are the girl who peaked in high school, or the girl who lived her life large using God’s promises to define her future and His word to guide her path.

Sinead x

P.S. Did you notice up the top that there is only two days until Christmas?!?! Talk about excited!!!

Leave a Reply

